Snemovni 8 – Hotel Alchymist

DATUM 2009-2013
INVESTOR Soukromý investor
MÍSTO Malá Strana


The house ´At Turk’s Head´ was owned by several proprietors in its history. We should mention at least two of them, very gifted artists who lived and left their traces here. One of them was Baroque painter Petr Brandl; the other one Josef Fanta, one of the outstanding representatives of Czech Art Nouveau architecture, refurbished the house in 1903.

The investor bought the famous historical Renaissance town house ´U Turkovy hlavy´ in a state of disrepair. The J.A. Comenius National Pedagogical Museum and Library occupied the upper stories in the past, a restaurant used to be on the ground floor.
Many valuable findings were discovered and salvaged during the renovation – painted ceilings, frescoes, original floor tiling, windows and doors, and others. All of them were restored, and five luxury flats were built here of the highest standard used for the accommodation of VIP clients of the Alchymist boutique hotel chain. 
The complex conversion restored the unique splendour of this unique house and bronze busts on the front façade remind of its two prominent inhabitants.